New kid on the block, part two

2008, December 9

My turn.
But it’s not my fault, they asked me to do it. And it’s only for a couple of classes. Substitute for the beginner class. And not exactly the teacher’s subtitute. One year ago the teacher asked a pupil to take care of the class, and I’ll be replacing this new guy.  So I’m merely a substitute’s substitute.I tried to save my skin by explaining that I was certainly not up to the task – if only for my inability to grasp concepts such as Ipod, playlist, sound system’s remote control – but it failed. “At the end of the day you can just bring CDs”, they replied.

Ok, then.

No idea what to teach them. I know they’ve learned the 8CB, I once saw the end of the class, they were shifting weight and then counting up to eight. What comes after the 8CB?  Ochos, that’s what I  learned after the basics when I was a newcomer.  But I can’t teach them ochos, that’s too much responsibility, ochos are the backbone of A.T’s vocabulary, if I fail then all their tango life is ruined. Ok I’ll show them variations on the 8CB’s theme. Not that I know many of them. Hey what if they’re better than me? Maybe I’ll bring some music they’re unfamiliar with, searching for the beat will keep them busy. Oh and warm-up tangos. Warm-ups are the teacher’s best friend. Changing the shoes, dancing the warm-up(s), and twenty minutes are gone already.  Also I’ll have to find a trick to skip the summary at the end when they’re all filming with their cells.

Or maybe I should not worry too much. Hey, sort of all the lads who started when I started are teachers now. Last month I discovered yet another one. I saw him lecturing his partner on the dance floor.  “I can see you’ve become a teacher, congrats!”. I thought I was teasing him for talking while dancing, but my joke backfired: “Great, you noticed my website… Yes, twice a week now plus a few privates, all the levels, feel free to join in but pm me first.”

One Response to “New kid on the block, part two”

  1. tangobeginner said

    Me and my stupid fears. There was no problem at all. They were normal beginners, not beginners with years of learning. I was better than them. I was highly credible.

Leave a Reply

